Györ win 2018 Women’s Handball Champions League in a dramatic finish

After an exciting game, Györ (Györ, Hungary) defeated HC Vardar (Skopje, Macedonia) in over time to claim the 2018 EHF Champions League. They become the first team to win the title 2 years in a row (in the new format). Györ has now 4 championships in this competition (2013201420172018) and become the 3rd club with most titles!

Győri Audi ETO KC 27 –  26 HC Vardar

Same team, same result: Györ win another impressive victory

Györ led for most of the first half. But at the break, Skopje had managed to come back (9-9). The Macedonian team then took control of the match but they never managed to get away on the scoring board. Andrea Lekic’s goal twenty seconds from time seemed to give Vardar the win. But Brazil’s Eduarda Amorim equalized immediately afterward, taking the two finalists into extra time. Györ was on the run, leading by three units (26-23). But again thanks to Lekic, Skopje has returned to one goal (27-26). HC Vardar had the chance to tied the game in the last moment but the Hungarian goalkeeper, Eva Kiss, had an amazing reflex to deny Skopje to tied the game.

This 2018 final was very similar to the one of last year. Same teams in final, a game that goes in the over-time and same winner by one goal: Györ. The tense 70-minute fight versus HC Vardar ends up with a fast-break save from Eva kiss in the money time. This epic finish sealed the victory for the Hungarian club!

“Proof that we are going in the right direction” EHF President Michael Wiederer is satisfied with the organization and the way things are going for Women’s handball in Europe. The attendance was about 12,000 people in László Papp Budapest Sports Arena, Budapest and the atmosphere was electric!

Crazy atmosphere in László Papp Budapest Sports Arena for the Final Four
Crazy atmosphere in László Papp Budapest Sports Arena for the Final Four / Source:

Full results of this weekend Final Four

Final Four ranking:

  1. Győri Audi ETO KC
  2. HC Vardar
  3. CSM București
  4. Rostov-Don

Final – Sunday, May 13, 2018
CSM București 27–26 HC Vardar

Final for the 3rd place – Sunday, May 13, 2018
CSM București 31–30 Rostov-Don

Semi-finals – Saturday, May 12, 2018
CSM București 20–26 Győri Audi ETO KC
Rostov-Don 19–25 HC Vardar

Final Four MVP and Dream Team of the competition

Amandine Leynaud (FRA) – Győri Audi ETO KC

Amandine Leynaud is the MVP of the final despite the defeat
Amandine Leynaud is the MVP of the final despite the defeat / Source:

Dream Team
: Kari Aalvik Grimsbø (NOR/Györi Audi ETO KC)
Left wing: Siraba Dembele (FRA/Rostov-Don)
Left back: Cristina Neagu (ROU/CSM Bucuresti)
Centre back: Veronica Kristiansen (NOR/FC Midtjylland)
Line player: Dragana Cvijic (SRB/HC Vardar)
Right back: Ana Gros (SLO/Metz Handball)
Right-wing: Iuliia Managarova (RUS/Rostov-Don)
Defender: Zsuzsanna Tomori (HUN/Györi Audi ETO KC)
Young player: Tjasa Stanko (SLO/RK Krim Mercator)
Coach: Ambros Martin (ESP/Györi Audi ETO KC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × 5 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.